Online Store   |   Advertising   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
Mental Health Counselor of the Year Award
Share |
Purpose of the Award

The Mental Health Counselor of the Year Award is intended to be given to persons who spend 51% of their time in direct counseling with clients and relevant consultation activities. This award is intended to recognize an individual who has provided outstanding counseling service, including consultation, to the public.

Procedure for Nomination

Any person who is a current member of AMHCA may make a nomination. Clarity of presentation and complete and specific documentation of the behaviors and/or incidents supporting this nomination will facilitate the committee's selection process.

  1. The nominee should have the endorsement of the state chapter.
  2. The nominee should have at least 3-5 years membership in AMHCA and should be a current member of AMHCA and the state chapter, if a state chapter exists.
  3. A nominator can only nominate one person annually.
  4. In the event of a tie, one additional award may be awarded.
  5. The criteria should include service to the profession through direct client service and should include positive attention generated to the field of mental health counseling through direct service to clients.
  6. Nominees may be private practitioners, or employed in agencies, institutions or colleges and universities, but the primary role must be that of direct service provider.
Past Award Recipients

Liliana "Lili" Sznaidman


Jason King


Carol Daniels


Gary A. Williams

C. Rudy Guajardo III

Anita Neuer


Judith A. Harrington