Online Store   |   Advertising   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
AMHCA 2010-2011 Awards Honor Excellence and Commitment to Mental Health Counseling
Share |
AMHCA 2010-2011 Awards Honor Excellence and Commitment to Mental Health Counseling


The 2011 winners of AMHCA’s individual and state chapter awards were honored at a  luncheon at the association’s Annual Conference in San Francisco. The awards ceremony took place on July 15, with Carol Staben–Burroughs, LCPC, left, bestowing the awards as chair of AMHCA’s Member Services Committee.

Just as the theme of the 2011 Annual Conference—“The Power of Partnerships: Effective Pathways to Mental Health”—highlighted the importance of joining with others to strengthen our personal and professional paths to greater mental health, AMHCA’s annual awards honor those individuals and state chapters who have discovered creative partnerships to meet the unique challenges of today’s evolving mental health environment. 

Certificate of Appreciation

James Rogers, PhD, in recognition of his two, three-year terms as editor (2005–2011) of AMHCA’s quarterly, scholarly, peer-reviewed journal, the Journal of Mental Health Counseling. Rogers is currently a professor in the Department of Counseling at The University of Akron and an adjunct professor of Behavioral and Community Health Sciences at The Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine. A licensed psychologist, Rogers has specialized in the areas of suicide and disaster-relief psychology.


Donald Matteson Scholarship Award

Sharon Cyrus–Savary, immediate past chair of AMHCA’s Graduate Student Committee, is currently pursuing her PhD in Counseling Psychology. She is an experienced international speaker with more than 25 years of experience in executive administrative positions and a tradtion of taking on leadership positions in her community. Winning this award signifies that she is an outstanding graduate student member of AMHCA. Cyrus-Savary also receives a $500 scholarship with this award.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Gerald and Marianne Corey, in recognition of their continuing contributions to the mental health counseling profession.
Gerald Corey, EdD, NCC,
 professor emeritus of Human Services at California State University at Fullerton, is a Diplomate in Counseling Psychology, American Board of Professional Psychology; a licensed psychologist; and author or co-author of 15 counseling textbooks and numerous journal articles. Marianne Schneider Corey, LMFT, NCC, has been active providing training and supervision workshops in group process for human-services students and professionals. In 2001, the two received the Eminent Career Award for distinguished and major contributions to the field of group work by the Association for Specialists in Group Work.

Mental Health Counselor of the Year

Carol Daniels, LPC, CAAC, CCS-M, for providing outstanding counseling service—including consultation—to the public, spending at least 50 percent of her time in direct counseling with clients and relevant consulting activities. Her nominators lauded her “knowledge, eneregy, initiative, and clincial skills,” with one commenting that “she excels in all areas” and “is a leader of others by her example.”

Outstanding Public and Community Service

The late Mary Kelly McCue, JD, for her outstanding commitment and service at the local level to her community. As the lobbyist for AMHCA’s Montana chapter for almost 20 years, she was instrumental in helping MLCPCA pass the state’s licensing law, and then its practice and title acts, along with representing the chapter’s needs in other legislative areas.

Professional Service and Leadership to a State Chapter 
Francis Martin, PhD, LPC–MHSP (Tennessee chapter), for his dedication, energy, service, and leadership, which have strengthened AMHCA’s Tennessee chapter, Tennessee Mental Health Counselors Association. He has promoted the goals and missions of his state chapter and the mental health counseling profession.

Past-President’s Award

Thomas J. Ferro, LCPC
Ferro was AMHCA’s president during  2010-2011. During that time, he led AMHCA’s delegation of mental health counselors to Cuba; engaged in the successful push to persuade Congreess to put licensed mental health counselors on the VA’s list of providers; oversaw board efforts to update AMHCA’s Code of Ethics and its training standards; welcomed AMHCA’s stronger student membership; and encouraged the association’s efforts to “go green.” Ferro is in private practice in Montana, where he has been a member of the Montana Licensed Clinical Professional Counselors Association (MLCPCA) for the last 25 years.

President’s Award 

Rep. Fortney “Pete” Stark, Jr. (D-Calif.) 
AMHCA’s highest honor, the President’s Award recognizes a person outside the mental health counseling profession who promotes the mental health counseling profession and awareness of and access to mental health. The award was bestowed by current AMHCA Past-President Tom Ferro, LCPC. Rep. Stark has served in Congress since 1973 and is a senior member of the powerful Ways and Means Committee. The award recognizes his commitment to establishing licensure for professional counselors and improving access to mental health services in California.


Outstanding State Chapter Award

Missouri Mental Health Counselors Association (MMHCA), for outstanding activities directed at building a stronger state chapter. Visit the MMHCA website at . Dan Holdinghaus, MMHCA Executive Director, left, accepted the award on behalf of the board and the chapter.


Service to Members Award
  • North Carolina (LPCANC—Licensed Professional Counselors Association of North Carolina) and
  • Tennessee (TMHCA—Tennessee Mental Health Counseling Association)

AMHCA honors these two chapters for their outstanding activities directed at providing service to members. 
Visit the North Carolina chapter website and the Tennessee chapter website.