Online Store   |   Advertising   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
Share |


CACREP Releases Draft #2 of 2016 Standards; Public's Comments Are Invited

The public comment period on Draft #2 of CACREP’s 2016 Standards opened Sept. 5, 2013, and runs through Jan. 10, 2014. CACREP posted two documents that it requests be read in their entirety prior to submitting feedback on the Standards:

For the purposes of providing feedback, Draft #2 has been divided up into 12 different sections. These include: 

  • Section I: The Learning Environment
  • Section II: Professional Counseling Identity
  • Section III: Professional Practice
  • Section IV: Evaluation in the Program
  • Addiction Counseling Standards
  • Career Counseling Standards
  • Clinical Mental Health Counseling Standards
  • Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling Standards (Note: These standards, recently adopted by the CACREP board of directors, will be released jointly with CORE.)
  • Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling Standards
  • Postsecondary Counseling Standards
  • School Counseling Standards
  • Doctoral Standards

AMHCA has already given feedback on the first draft, and invites feedback on the Draft #2 of CACREP Standards through the Mental Health Interest Network. The Network has concerns that “the clinical” is being taken out of clinical mental health counseling, and that the generalizing of counselor standards across multiple disciplines will be detrimental to progress made in areas such as the ability to assess and treat.

For more information on submitting feedback on the CACREP Standards through the Mental Health Interest Network, see the article in the September 2013 Advocate by AMHCA Past President Karen Langer, LMHC, or send your contact information or any questions you have to Sandy Lopez–Baez, PhD, NCC, ACS, CCMHC, LPC at:


Deadline to Apply for Diplomate Credential Is Oct. 15

The deadline for the next cycle of AMHCA’s Diplomate and Clinical Mental Health Specialist (DCMHS) credential is Oct. 15. The DCMHS recognizes both advanced practice and professional clinical expertise in clinical mental health counseling.

You may already have completed all of the requirements to qualify for this highest level of professional recognition. To achieve the DCMHS credential, you must: 

  1. Demonstrate advanced clinical counseling proficiency beyond the level of full state licensing that is substantiated through documented certification and experience.
  2. Also demonstrate expertise as a specialist in one or more of the following specializations:
  • Child and Adolescent Counseling
  • Couples Counseling
  • Developmental Disability Counseling
  • Family Counseling
  • Geriatric Counseling
  • Substance Abuse & Co-Occurring Disorders
  • Trauma Counseling

AMHCA is accepting online applications from members who wish to qualify for the AMHCA Diplomate and Clinical Mental Health Specialist.