Public and Community Service Award

Purpose of the Award

The Public and Community Service Award is intended to honor and recognize outstanding service at the local, state or national level that reflects a significant contribution to the professional concerns of AMHCA, and to stimulate future service for the well-being of the mental health counseling profession.


  1. Nominees may be nominated who have significantly impacted the public and enhanced the profession through service to AMHCA and the mental health counseling profession.
  2. Nominees may be nominated for time given on behalf of legislative policy or participating in legislative policy making at a local, state, regional or national level.
  3. Nominees may be nominated for new programming developed for consumers, changes effected or input given into critical mental health issues such as chemical dependency, third party payments, managed health care, or other timely and crucial mental health issues.

Procedure for Nomination

Any person who is a current member of AMHCA may make a nomination. Clarity of presentation and complete and specific documentation of the behaviors and/or incidents supporting this nomination will facilitate the committee's selection process.

Awards nominations window is open in Spring

2006-2007 Award Recipient

Dr. Wayne Meyerowitz

2010-2011 Award Recipient

Mary Kelly McCue

2014-2015 Award Recipient

Cindy Sneed

2007-2008 Award Recipient

Debra L. Carr

2011-2012 Award Recipient

Darlene Silvernail

2016-2017 Award Recipient

Jeri Stevens

2008-2009 Award Recipient

Dr. Robert Bakko

2012-2013 Award Recipient

Adrian Magnuson-Whyte

2019-2020 Award Recipient

Aaron Norton