Researcher of the Year Award

Purpose of the Award

Intended to honor and recognize high quality research in the area of mental health counseling.


    1. Nominees may be nominated for a single piece of research published after January of the year prior to the award presentation or for thematic research consisting of several research studies published since January1, 1988.
    2. The work for which the member is being nominated must be clearly related to the discipline of mental health counseling.
    3. The work must have been published in a professional journal, preferably the Journal of Mental HealthCounseling.
    4. There are no work restrictions for this award.
    5. Nominees should not be members of the AMHCA board nor have any connection to the Academy ofClinical Mental Health Counselors on NBCC

    Procedure for Nomination

    Any person who is a current member of AMHCA may make a nomination. Clarity of presentation and complete and specific documentation of the behaviors and/or incidents supporting this nomination will facilitate the committee's selection process.

    Awards nominations window is open in Spring

    2008-2009 Award Recipient

    Dr. Linda L. Barclay

    2013-2014 Award Recipient

    Dr. Ellen Carruth

    2016-2017 Award Recipient

    Dr. Robert Kronick

    2020-2021 Award Recipient

    Dr. Claudia Calder-Marshall

    2011-2012 Award Recipient

    Dr. Lisa Hooper

    2014-2015 Award Recipient

    Dr. Gary Gintner

    2018-2019 Award Recipient

    Dr. Thom Field

    2021-2022 Award Recipient

    Dr. Eman Tadros

    2012-2013 Award Recipient

    Dr. Lori Russell-Chapin

    2015-2016 Award Recipient

    Angele Moss-Baker, DCMHS - Substance Abuse

    2019-2020 Award Recipient

    Raissa Miller