California LPCC

Needs a lot of help
Licenses: Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors (LPCCs)

Licensure Board:

California Department of Consumer Affairs
Board of Behavioral Sciences

Board of Behavioral Sciences
1625 N Market Blvd, Suite S-200
Sacramento CA 95814
(916) 574-7830 TTY: (800) 326-2217

New License Fee: $100.00
Renewal Fee: ?????


Initial Qualifications
Master's or doctoral degree (60 semester or 90 quarter units); 10 of 13 Core Content Areas; 6 semester or 9 quarter units of supervised practicum or field study min. 280 hours of face-to-face supervised clinical experience
Practical Experience, Amount: At least 104 weeks, 3,000 hours
Practical Experience, Qualifications: Registration as a PCCI within 90 days of completion of education; 150 hours of clinical experience must be gained in a hospital or community mental health setting; fingerprinting with the BBS
Supervision, qualifications
Exams: California Law and Ethics Examination, and NCMHCE

Ongoing Qualifcations
Continuing Ed
: [WHAT IS THE LENGTH OF THE RENEWAL CYCLE?] regular: 36 hours within 2 years of renewal; first time renewal: 18 hours.

Additional requirements to treat couples and families
1. (6)semester units or nine (9) quarter units specifically focused on the theory and application of marriage and family therapy
a named specialization or emphasis area on the qualifying degree in marriage and family therapy; marital and family therapy; marriage, family, and child counseling; or couple and family therapy.
2. At least 500 hours of documented supervised experience working directly with couples, families, or children.
3. A minimum of six (6) hours of continuing education (CE) specific to marriage and family therapy during each license renewal cycle.

  • VERIFY a license or registration,
  • FILE a complaint against a licensee or registrant.
  • RENEW your license/registration,
  • SUBMIT a Change of Address
  • REQUEST a Replacement or Duplicate Certificate ]


Related Links