Still have questions?

Read our Credential FAQs or contact Rebecca Gibson, the Director, Office of Credentialing and Continuing Education, at

National Counselor Licensure Portability

Counseling regulatory boards will determine the future of license portability for counselors. With the recent progress toward a counseling interstate compact, creating uniform standards across state lines has never been more important or more possible. The four organizations which comprise the National Portability Taskforce, AASCB, ACES, AMHCA, and NBCC are dedicated to serving licensing boards by continuing to seek an endorsement process that protects the public and increases access to care. Learn more

Apply for AMHCA Credentialing Certifications

Since 2012, AMHCA has recognized outstanding professional development through the Diplomate and Clinical Mental Health Specialist (DCMHS) program. Over the years, AMHCA saw that some CMHCs gain expertise and prominence by following professional development paths that do not always include specialization in a particular area. To recognize this, the AMHCA board of directors voted in 2018 to expand the DCMHS program beyond recognizing specialists in a specific area. The DCMHS program is now separated into three advanced-level credentialing certifications: Clinical Mental Health Counseling Specialist, Diplomate in Advanced Clinical mental Health Counseling Practice, and Fellow in Clinical Mental Health Counseling Education and Research.

For LCMHCs who are independently licensed, AMHCA offers advanced credentialing certifications. The establishment of board certification provides evidence of increasing professional competence and expertise that can convey to clients that an LCMHC holds independently recognized competencies.

All three advanced AMHCA certifications are certified by the AMHCA Credentialing and Certification Board. This board is composed of seasoned licensed mental health professionals, at least three of whom independently assess every application and determine if the applicant meets all of the criteria.

AMHCA Advanced Professional Credentialing Certifications

Certification - Clinical Mental Health Counseling Specialist

Specialist in Child and Adolescent Counseling
Specialist in Couples or Family Counseling
Specialist in Developmental and Learning Disabilities Counseling
Specialist in Geriatric Counseling
Specialist in Integrated Behavioral Health Care Counseling
Specialist in Military Counseling
Specialist in Substance Use and Co-occurring Disorders
Specialist in Trauma Counseling
Specialist in Forensic Evaluation

Certification - Diplomate in Advanced Clinical Mental Health Counseling Practice

Diplomate in Advanced Clinical Mental Health Counseling Practice

Certification - Fellow in Clinical Mental Health Counseling Education and Research

Fellow in Clinical Mental Health Counseling Education and Research

An AMHCA Clinical membership is required to apply for one of our credentialing certifications. Not yet a member? Great news!

You can pay our special non-member rate which includes a year of membership. If you are not a member, join first as a 'Guest' in our system and it will prompt you to pay the non-member rate when you pay your fee.